Whew!  It was a busy weekend around here with the Balloon Rally, Rib Fest, and Chalkfest.  Saturday afternoon, I went back to the airport to check out some of the BBQ that was being served up since the lines were way too long Friday night.  I decided on a place called “My Happy Place” since they had a lunch special…a pulled pork sandwich with beans and slaw.  I thought the pulled pork was very good, but didn’t care for their sauces much.  Next year I will have to try one of the other places in the cook-off. While at the airport I checked out the kite flying going on…so many kites!!  There weren’t many people there so it was fun just to walk around and see everything that I couldn’t see Friday night.

Just some of the kites flying high on Saturday.

Just some of the kites flying high on Saturday.

Saturday night I went back down to the airport to check out night 2 of the Balloon Glow and fireworks.  Luckily the breeze had died down enough throughout the evening that they could do the full glow…almost 20 hot air balloons, including the Energizer Bunny balloon…the largest balloon in the world!!  It was amazing.

The Energizer balloon...you cant tell but there is a full balloon behind it that is completely covered!

The Energizer balloon...you can't tell but there is a full balloon behind it that is completely covered!

After the glow, there was an awesome fireworks show.  Before the fireworks started, a friend went to go in search of some food for her family and came back with the report that all 4 of the BBQ places at Rib Fest ran out of food (they were scheduled to go through Sunday, but had to close up shop early) and the other few places (local groups with food carts) had lines hundreds deep.  I’m glad I went in the afternoon to check out the ribs.

Sunday afternoon, Andrew and I went downtown to check out Chalkfest.  It’s amazing to see some of the creations people made out of chalk!  Andrew even got a chance to make a small drawing for the Children’s Mural.

